Home |
| Archives | International Mountain Society |
| Contact
Scope and audience
Section policies
Editorial Team and Boards
Publishing partners
Publication fee policy
Special issue policy
Copyright and permissions
Mountain links
Editorial Team

Thomas Breu, Centre for Development and Environment (CDE), University of Bern
David Molden, International Centre for Integrated Mountain Development (ICIMOD)

Associate Editors
Susanne Wymann von Dach, CDE, University of Bern – MountainDevelopment, MountainPlatform
Anne Zimmermann, CDE, University of Bern – MountainResearch, MountainAgenda
Sarah-Lan Mathez-Stiefel, CDE, University of Bern – MountainResearch

The Associate Editors are responsible for management of MRD activities, production, and communication, and are in charge of the MountainDevelopment, MountainResearch, MountainNotes, and MountainPlatform sections. They support the Editors-in-Chief with regard to MRD’s strategic orientation.

Book Review Editor
Martin Price, Centre for Mountain Studies, Perth College, University of Highlands and Islands – MountainMedia

Assistant Editor
Marlène Thibault, CDE, University of Bern

Production Editors
Melanie Bonney, Allen Press

Honorary Board

Jack D. Ives (Canada)
Bruno Messerli (Switzerland)
Yuri P. Badenkov (Russia)

Members of the Honorary Board have a long history of serving the international mountain community and a long-standing commitment to MRD. They provide special advice concerning the journal’s mission and help to further its international recognition.

International Editorial Board

Irasema Alcántara-Ayala (Mexico)
Ruchi Badola (India)
Jörg Balsiger (Switzerland)
Jill M. Belsky (USA)
Astrid Björnsen Gurung (Switzerland)
Peng Cui (China)
Yayoi Fujita Lagerqvist (Australia)
José M. García-Ruiz (Spain)
Georg Gratzer (Austria)
Ricardo Grau (Argentina)
Andreas Heinimann (Switzerland)
Thomas Hofer (Italy)
Bahadar Nawab Khattak (Pakistan)
Jacek Kozak (Poland)
Hermann Kreutzmann (Germany)
Joanne Millar (Australia)
Esther Mwangi (Kenya)
Marcus Nüsser (Germany)
Stefano Pagiola (USA)
Nadine Salzmann (Switzerland)
Dietrich Schmidt-Vogt (Germany)
Hans Schreier (Canada)
Eklabya Sharma (Nepal)
Surendra Pratap Singh (India)
Thomas Streifeneder (Italy)
Rolf Weingartner (Switzerland)
Jianchu Xu (China)
Gete Zeleke (Ethiopia)

The International Editorial Board comprises acknowledged experts from the science and development communities. They ensure high-quality preliminary reviews, advise MRD on its thematic orientation, and help to shape and disseminate MRD as the key, internationally acknowledged, peer-reviewed mountain journal.

Representatives of IMS Institutional Members

Manfred Kaufmann (SDC, Switzerland)
Eklabya Sharma (ICIMOD, Nepal)
Yuka Makino (FAO, Italy)
María Argüello (CONDESAN, Peru)
Thomas Kohler (CDE, Switzerland)
Carolina Adler (MRI, Switzerland)
Roy C. Sidle (UCA/MSRI, Kyrgyz Republic)
Ursula Schüpbach (FoLAP, Switzerland)
Martin Price (CMS, Scotland)
Yanhong Wu (IMHE, China)
V. Ralph Clark (ARU, South Africa)
Philbert Nsengiyumva (ARCOS, Uganda)

The International Mountain Society (IMS) promotes research on mountains and knowledge for mountain development by publishing Mountain Research and Development. IMS institutional members are represented by individuals who serve as a link between MRD and their institutional networks and transfer MRD knowledge to policy debates.

Managing Director, IMS
Thomas Kohler, Centre for Development and Environment (CDE), University of Bern

Editorial Office

MRD Editorial Office
Centre for Development and Environment (CDE)
University of Bern
Mittelstrasse 43
3012 Bern


Production Office at Allen Press

Melanie Bonney
Production Editors
Allen Press
810 East 10th Street
Lawrence, KS 66044



Copyright © MRD, 2009–2019 Last update: February 2019 – contact webmaster